The Trouble with Fanfic

At least, the trouble with it as it applies to me.

The more time I spend on it, the more I’m drawn to the new characters and worlds and ideas, and the less I care about the storyline in canon.

I had an idea for a Mass Effect fanfiction set after a destroy-ending, and the main thing it was one element of the franchise. The when and the how were always variable, and I had an element similar to what I required within my own planned-out scifi stories (that exist within a persistent universe, meaning that my ten or so different stories all exist in the same science fiction reality). The biggest obstacle to using it, was that I’d need to write out each of the other stories (or a significant chunk of them) for the setting to hold the same impact.

I love my idea of confrontations between the established characters, but it’s the new ones that I’m excited about. I do love the ME galaxy, but it’s the details I’ve wanted to add that mean more . On top of that, it’s the lack of expression that makes this difficult. I don’t want to go the route of search/replace on a finished story for the sake of being able to show it off, especially when most of the references would be there without explanation. It isn’t the first time I’ve done this with a piece intended to be on somebody else’s world, and it may not be the last.

I was greatly inspired by meeting some of the people that work at Bioware, but I think maybe this shouldn’t be a Mass Effect story? Who am I to say what should happen after the reapers are defeated?

The fact that I can take that story I had in mind, and see elements from it reflected in other stories I’d already planned, that were already meant to be part of the same universe? Sounds a bit much like a sign I should’ve done it that way to begin with.

Leave a Reply

