Writing Talk: I want to open a dialogue

I love to talk about writing.

Specifically, talking about writing with people. The majority of what happens here is a broadcast sent out into the quiet places of the internet, but I want to engage with people, too. I don’t mean established writers, literary savants, or other wordsmiths. Well, not merely those people. I want to talk to you.

I’m interested in what others have to say about writing. I have my own ideas and they work for me, but I want to broaden my authorial worldview. That means no matter what level you’re at, the base of the writing mountain or the summit, I value your input. There are regular commenters on here, as well as the irregular kind – I want to hear from those that never comment as much as those that do.

Who are you?

Tell me the basics – a name and a country.

I’m Nick, from Australia.

What do you write?

Poetry? Short stories? Screenplays? Novels? Do you write romance, YA, science fiction, horror, another genre, or some general undefinable type of story.

I generally write novels, and science fiction at that. Some fantasy ideas, one western, and a bunch of other random bits and pieces.

What are you writing/working on currently?

What’s occupying your time, writing wise? Are you in-between stories? Working on a new one, or doing some kind of revision.

A science fiction novel, For More Than Earthly Ends, set a few decades in the future. Currently working on the second draft.

Pantser or Planner?

Do you make it all up as you go, flying by the seat of your pants, or do you have a meticulously designed plan that you adhere to without fail? Are you in between the two, some kind of Panner/Planter?

I’ve mostly been a Pantser, working with a very loose, mutable plan. I have started moving toward more thorough plans recently, and could swing further that way

Is there a topic you’d like to see covered here?

I write about a lot of different topics, mostly writing-related. If there’s a particular type of writing, advice, or something you would like to see covered, I am open to suggestion. It’s also possible I’ve already written about it.

I would like to do a back-to-basics type thing, similar in style to The Plan Plan. Something more detailed with regard to the bits and pieces of writing.

How long has it been since you last wrote?

Fess up. You consider yourself a writer, but how long has it been. Even if you only wrote a sentence, when was the last time you did so? Are you happy with how long it has been, or will it change today?

It’s been a day for me. It wasn’t for long enough, and yep, I could really do better.

Just say hello!

If all those questions above feel too intrusive, don’t mind them. No need to say you don’t want to talk about it – just say hello, or something, just as much as is comfortable for you.

9 thoughts on “Writing Talk: I want to open a dialogue

  1. WHO ARE YOU?:
    Chris, from Australia

    WHAT DO YOU WRITE?:
    Novel-length pieces, and the occasional short story. Predominantly sci-fi, fantasy or espionage.

    WHAT ARE YOU WRITING/WORKING ON CURRENTLY?:
    The first of a planned 5-book series about a cyberpunk “fixer” named Andrew Thorne, and a series of slightly-connected short stories set in the Interverse.

    PANTSER OR PLANNER?:
    Planner, though only in broad strokes and almost always in my head. When it’s NaNoWriMo, that’s a whole ‘nother kettle of fish.

    IS THERE A TOPIC YOU’D LIKE TO SEE COVERED HERE?:
    I understand it may not be feasible, but maybe interviews with published/renowned authors on their process and things like that?

    HOW LONG HAS IT BEEN SINCE YOU LAST WROTE?:
    Since yesterday.

    1. I’ll see what I can do in terms of interviews – I may have a few doors opening in August, which might give me the chance to interview some established writers. Failing that, I have lots of contacts that are heavily invested in their writing, even if they’re not well-known just yet.

  2. I’m Cathy from the USA (Massachusetts to be exact).

    What do you write?
    I write short stories, novels:urban fantasy, chicklit, coming of age stories, and a blog.

    What are you writing/working on currently?
    I am working on the second draft of a second book in a series I have been doing during NaNoWriMo. It’s called “Redemption” and it’s urban fantasy (angels/demons).

    Pantser or Planner?
    I plan. I outline. I plot. I make notes. I start out following them. THen something happens and I take a turn and abandon them. Never fails…

    Is there a topic you’d like to see covered here?
    I love talking about crafting setting. Sometimes, setting is so hard to do. Dialogue can come easy but setting can sometimes be troublesome.

    How long has it been since you last wrote?
    I wrote today. Just a blog post but it was good.

    Love the blog! Keep on writing! 🙂

    1. Your experiences with plotting are very similar to what happens with me. It’s always hard coming back to it later and trying to pick up the pieces, but on the other hand, it’s great not quite knowing the roads the story will take.

      I agree on setting, too. Research (or planning details for things that can’t be readily researched, such as alien planets or magical societies) helps in that regard – and somehow putting together the idea of a physical space, be it a map, established city, or something where outside the story, you can navigate it.

      Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  3. I’m Brandie, from Canada
    I write novels and short stories. Mostly fantasy but also some dystopian sci-fi and thrillers.
    I’m working on 4 stories now. One is a short story that I’m posting on my blog, one is a dystopian about I world where science and technology are feared. One is a fantasy about a slave who is bought by a nobleman who is secretly an assassin and he trains the slave to also be an assassin. And the last one is a thriller about a painter who finds a child covered in blood outside late at night. I also have a fantasy in the editing stage. It is about two twins. One becomes a mercenary and one becomes a healer.
    I like to plan sometimes and wing it other times. It depends on my mood.
    I like reading about writing. Tips for writing, what people are writing, why people write, etc.
    I try to write everyday. I wrote a bit a few hours ago and I’m going to write more now.

    1. That’s a lot of stories to be working on at once. I don’t think I could do that myself, though do like having ones to work on in between stories. Thanks for commenting 🙂

  4. I may count as irregular, but I think I shall do this as well:

    Who are you?

    Jennifer/Oyoa, and from the USA.

    What do you write?

    I tend to write what people will eventually call a novel; once they are actually done. Mostly I deal with fantasy, but I have had a few modern/romance. But not erotic.

    What are you writing/working on currently?

    I am working on about three or four stories. I am not good at just working on just one, because when an idea or sprint hits, I let it flow.

    Pantser or Planner?

    I am a Pantser. With a little bit of planning sometimes. But if things do not go the way I planned, I adjust my plan or just let it go and see where the adventure takes me.

    Is there a topic you’d like to see covered here?

    I like just reading what you have decided to write about. But I do not always comment. Still enjoy it.

    How long has it been since you last wrote?

    It has been… maybe a month. or so. It’s been a bad writer’s block.

Leave a Reply

